Workshops and Information Sessions

In addition to the resources available online, OUR organizes a series of workshops and information sessions on topics related to undergraduate research, scholarship, and creative activity. For spring 2023, workshops and information sessions will be held online and in person. On this page, you will find the schedule of workshops and information sessions for the current semester as well as handouts from the most recent iterations of these events.

Are you looking for information about other OUR events? Follow these links for information about Frontiers exhibitions or the Month of Discovery.

Would you like someone from OUR to visit (virtually or in person) and talk with your class, organization or club? We can do that!
We ask that you make your request at least 2 weeks in advance by completing this online form.

 

Upcoming Spring 2023 Events

Title Date Time Location
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Tuesday, February 7 2:00-3:00pm In Person – Rowe 420
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Wednesday, February 8 4:00-5:00pm Online – Join here
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Thursday, February 9 2:00-3:00pm Online – Join here
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Wednesday, February 15 4:00-5:00pm Online – Join here
BOLD Women’s Leadership Network Information Session Thursday, February 16 4:00-5:00pm Rowe 420
BOLD Women’s Leadership Network Information Session Monday, February 20 5:00-6:00pm Online – Join here

Past Spring 2023 Events

Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Tuesday, January 17 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 106
Health Research Program Information Session Tuesday, January 17 4:00-5:00pm Online
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Wednesday, January 18 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 107
Letters of Recommendation: Who and How to Ask Thursday, January 19 4:00-5:00pm Online
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Tuesday, January 24 4:00-5:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Wednesday, January 25 4:00-5:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Friday, February 3 12:15-1:15pm In Person – ITE 336
Letters of Recommendation: Who and How to Ask Friday, February 3 3:30-4:30pm Online

Winter Break Events

Title Date Time Location
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Thursday, December 29 2:00-3:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Monday, January 9 1:00-2:00pm Online
Writing Emails to Faculty Tuesday, January 10 1:00-2:00pm Online
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Wednesday, January 11 1:00-2:00pm Online
Health Research Program Information Session Thursday, January 12 11:00am-12:00pm Online
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Thursday, January 12 1:00-2:00pm Online
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Friday, January 27 3:30-4:30pm Online
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Monday, January 30 4:00-5:00pm Online

Fall 2022 Events

Title Date Time Location
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Thursday, August 25 1:00-2:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Friday, August 26 11:00am-12:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Wednesday, August 31 4:00-5:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Friday, September 9 12:15-1:15pm In Person – McHugh 201
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Friday, September 9 3:30-4:30pm Online
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Tuesday, September 13 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 302
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Wednesday, September 14 4:00-5:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Thursday, September 15 2:00-3:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Tuesday, September 20 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 302
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Monday, September 26 11:15am-12:15pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Thursday, October 6 12:30-1:30pm In Person – McHugh 305
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Wednesday, October 12 4:00-5:00pm Online
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Friday, October 21 10:00-11:00am In Person – Monteith 225
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Tuesday, October 25 2:00-3:00pm Online
Research Routes: Discovering Pathways to Research Wednesday, October 26 5:00-6:00pm In Person – HBL Instruction 1102
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Wednesday, November 2 12:15-1:15pm In Person – Monteith 111
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Tuesday, November 8 4:00-5:00pm Online
UConn IDEA Grant Information Session Wednesday, November 9 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 302
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Thursday, November 10 3:30-4:30pm Online
Health Research Program Information Session Monday, November 14 12:15-1:15pm In Person – McHugh 201
Getting Started in Undergraduate Research Monday, November 14 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 302
Letters of Recommendation: Who and How to Ask Tuesday, November 15 4:00-5:00pm Online
SURF Information Session Wednesday, November 16 4:00-5:00pm Online
Health Research Program Information Session Thursday, November 17 5:00-6:00pm Online
Letters of Recommendation: Who and How to Ask Wednesday, November 30 4:00-5:00pm Online
SURF Information Session Thursday, December 1 4:00-5:00pm In Person – McHugh 302
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Friday, December 2 12:15-1:15pm Online
Finding Summer Research Opportunities Monday, December 5 4:00-5:00pm Online
SURF Information Session Tuesday, December 6 4:00-5:00pm Online